Shared housing available with community-minded single mom and kids

by Sam McKagan
Category
Community With Opening
Location
United StatesWASeattle(show on map )
I’m a single mom with two kids, looking to create a mini-community by sharing my house with another family where the kids can have other kids to play with, the grown-ups can have other grown-ups to talk to and appreciate their cooking, and we can all support each other and help out with cooking, cleaning, and having fun.We have 2 rooms available in our 4-bedroom house. One room is large, one is small, and both have access to a large bathroom that we rarely use. So far our available space has worked well for a single parent with one kid, but I’m open to other arrangements. The small room is great for a kid or an office, but would be hard to rent on its own so I’d prefer to rent both to one person or family.The house is a gorgeous old Craftsman built in 1900 with a lot of classic character. It is a big house with lots of shared common space, a great kitchen, and a small yard with 8 chickens, a garden, and fruit trees. We have two kittens, and would be open to another cat if you think they’d get along with kittens and rambunctious children.

I’m 41, have a job I love, and have a lot of experience living in community and figuring out how to communicate with different kinds of people. Looking for others who are mature, communicative, financially independent, and passionate about something. I enjoy dinner parties, hanging out with friends, gardening, and good food and drink. My kids are 7 and 9, one is super social and the other is a bit shy but still begs me to have people over for dinner pretty much every night. They are both rambunctious and full of energy. They live with me half-time, and the house tends to be loud when they are here, and quiet when they are not.

We are three blocks from Leschi Elementary, where my kids walk to school.

Available November 1. Rent is $1500/month for both rooms, which includes all utilities, internet, eggs from our chickens, and biweekly house cleaning.

Long term, I’m thinking about building more housing on the property to make it into a larger community.