Searching for a Community or Commune.

by Wednesday
Category
Seeking Community

Hi, I am a 31 year old single mom. I have looking for an animal friendly and child friendly community to raise my child.
He and I are on our own after his father passed away 6 years ago.

I have experience with gardening, hydroponic systems, small and large farm animals and many many years of working in daycares and as a camp counselor.
My most recent job was working 1 on 1 with a teenager with down syndrome. I feel that giving back to ones community and helping those in need are both incredibly important.

I have just recently spent the last two years living off the grid in a solar and wind powered house.
I was able to teach myself how to use and care for the entire system from reading the extensive manuals.

Our lease is up and we need to move somewhere for either the Summer or hopefully to a permanent location for the school year. My son loves the outdoors. He is friendly and good at fixing and building things.

We have cats and a dog. We have had chickens and ducks in the past and would be willing to do so again.
While we are omnivores I was raised vegan and vegetarian and can cook extremely well. I also can bake very well but am completely self taught.

I also recently learned how to make my own lotions, balls and medicine from various plants. I would love to increase my knowledge on gardening and herbalism.

If we do not sound like a good fit form your community but you know of others you could suggest please let me know.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.